Best Atlanta Tattoo Studio Voted By Creative Loafing Readers

HomeNew Tattoo ImagesTattoo ImagesAll or Nothing ArtworkRead about us in the pressCheck out our bumpin message boardLearn about our studioWatch videos about All or NothingRead our massive gallery of articles about usHow to get hereLearn how to take care of that new tattooCheck out our hellafied links pageShow your support by linking back to usGet some All or Nothing gear at Stranglehold Merch 

Go Back   All or Nothing Tattoo and Art Studio > Open Chat > General Discussion

Old 06-13-2008, 09:54 PM
Recruit

Default Is this a normal apprenticeship?

I have been apprenticing in a small shop in a small town for about seven months now. Its just me and the owner and I am not sure how to take it all. All arrogancy aside I feel I am a very talented artist I was in advanced art classes throughout high school as well as advanced regular classes. I attended a four year university and studied fine arts and I am now classified as a senior. I work a full time job and I am at the shop full time as well. Things started out okay but they have gotten worse and worse. I have found over time that he has taken credit for my artwork, he lies to me and the customers, and he has a very poor work ethic. He is rarely here and he expects me to fufil the positions of counter girl, cleaning lady, and tattoo artist, full time. This is a full custom shop, so this includes drawing up all of his work as well as my own. He pays me 50% of the tattoos I do, but those are few and far between since the clientelle is so limited in a small town. Tattooing is very important to me, but I am afraid his childish behavior and poor ethics are instilling in me something that i will never be able to rid myself of. He is horrible to almost everyone that comes into the shop and treats me like a cash cow half the time and the other half the time he treats me like dirt under his shoes. I feel like I am not learning anything, and I am scared that the tatto