Best Atlanta Tattoo Studio Voted By Creative Loafing Readers

HomeNew Tattoo ImagesTattoo ImagesAll or Nothing ArtworkRead about us in the pressCheck out our bumpin message boardLearn about our studioWatch videos about All or NothingRead our massive gallery of articles about usHow to get hereLearn how to take care of that new tattooCheck out our hellafied links pageShow your support by linking back to usGet some All or Nothing gear at Stranglehold Merch 
Old 11-28-2010, 09:45 PM
Recruit

Default Frame & Machine building

I've been tattooing for a couple of years and have decided to build my own machines from the frame up, but I'm looking for a good starting point. I am planning on using a mild steel (1018 low carbon grade) for the frame and I'll be welding it together, because I dont have a mill or lathe. I am looking for some suggestions on dimensions (standard legnths and hole positioning), tips and tricks of machine building, the basic "how to's" of it all. If anyone could point me in the right direction, it would be greatly appreciated. I could just look at the machine measurements that I currently use or have used in the past but I am wanting to get other arts/ builders point of view and suggestions so I have the knowledge to build it right. If its easier PM and Ill shoot you my email.

Thanks, Justin

Last edited by AnarchyArts; 11-28-2010 at 10:56 PM..
Submit to Clesto Submit to Digg Submit to Reddit Submit to Furl Submit to Del.icio.us Submit to Spurl Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2010, 10:41 AM
(.)(.) giggidy giggidy
Field Marshal

Default Re: Frame & Machine building

not to sound like a tool, but huck spaulding has frames that have only the holes drilled, so you can shape the frame anyway you want, and they are oil treated 1018 steel. i was thinking about getting a couple, but i dont have what i need to get them the way i want.

"dont cry over spilled milk, get mad and punch a cow"......-steven colbert